SPAA '99  

Call for Papers

Eleventh ACM Symposium on Parallel Algorithms and Architectures
SPAA '99

June 27-30, 1999
Saint-Malo, France

The Eleventh Annual ACM Symposium on Parallel Algorithms and Architectures (SPAA '99) is sponsored by the ACM Special Interest Groups on Algorithms and Computation Theory (SIGACT) and Computer Architecture (SIGARCH) and organized in cooperation with the European Association for Theoretical Computer Science.

SPAA '99 will feature contributed papers, a plenary invited talk by Prof. James Demmel, University of California, Berkeley, and a SPAA Revue session, with invited presentations, posters, and demos of current research.

Contributed Papers
Contributed papers are sought in the areas of parallel algorithms and architectures, at all levels of parallelism, from VLSI to instruction-level parallelism to SMPs to supercomputers. A major goal of SPAA is to foster communication and cooperation among the diverse communities involved in the theory and practice of parallel computing, including those involved in algorithms, applications, languages, and systems. Papers should present original, fundamental advances in parallel computing. The Symposium encourages papers that offer novel approaches to parallel computing, present new ideas in parallel algorithms or architectures (including novel algorithm implementations on real machines and innovative use of technology), present models for accounting for costs on parallel machines, or study the interaction of parallel algorithms, languages and architectures. A contributed paper must not be submitted to another conference with published proceedings.

Authors of contributed papers are encouraged to submit their manuscript electronically by email. To submit electronically, visit This is the preferred method of submission. The deadline for electronic submissions is January 19, 1999, 5 p.m. CST (11 p.m. GMT).

Authors who are unable to submit electronically should send 12 double-sided hard copies of their manuscript to arrive by January 19, or postmarked January 12 or earlier and sent airmail to:

Vijaya Ramachandran, SPAA '99 Program Chair
The University of Texas at Austin
Department of Computer Sciences, Taylor Hall 2.124
Austin, TX 78712, USA

Address enquiries by email to; do not send electronic submissions to this email address.

Enquiries regarding participation in the SPAA Revue should be sent to Micah Adler at by March 18, 1999. Please include a tentative title and one page abstract for each proposed presentation.

Paper Submission Format
The cover page should include
  1. title,
  2. authors and affiliation,
  3. e-mail address of the contact author, and
  4. a brief abstract describing the work.
The body of the paper should include an introduction understandable to a nonspecialist including motivation and previous work, and a technical exposition directed to a specialist. It should not exceed 10 printed pages in 11-point type or larger (excluding cover, figures, and references). More details may be supplied in a clearly marked appendix to be read at the discretion of the Program Committee.

Authors will be sent notification of acceptance or rejection by e-mail or letter mailed on or before March 18, 1999. A camera-ready copy of each accepted paper, prepared according to ACM guidelines, must be received by April 12, 1999. Accepted papers will be allotted a 25-minute presentation at the conference.

The conference program and registration information will be posted on the SPAA '99 web pages in April 1999.

Program Chair
Vijaya Ramachandran, University of Texas, Austin

Program Committee
Sarita Adve, Rice University
Jean-Loup Baer, University of Washington
Robert D. Blumofe, University of Texas, Austin
S. Lennart Johnsson, University of Houston
Yossi Matias, Tel Aviv University and Bell Laboratories
Ernst W. Mayr, TU München
S. Muthukrishnan, Bell Laboratories, Lucent Technologies
Vijaya Ramachandran, University of Texas, Austin
Larry Rudolph, MIT
Ramesh K. Sitaraman, University of Massachusetts
Dominique Sotteau, CNRS, Université Paris-Sud
Shanghua Teng, University of Illinois, Urbana

SPAA Revue Chair
Micah Adler, University of Toronto

Local Arrangements Chairs
Pierre Fraigniaud, CNRS, Université Paris-Sud
Patrice Quinton, IRISA, Rennes

SPAA General Chair
Gary Miller, Carnegie Mellon University

SPAA Secretary
Thomas H. Cormen, Dartmouth College

SPAA Treasurer
Eric Schwabe, DePaul University

Back to SPAA home page
Thomas H. Cormen <>
Last modified: Fri Oct 2 17:09:08 1998