SPAA '00  

Call for Papers

Twelfth ACM Symposium on Parallel Algorithms and Architectures
SPAA '00

July 9-13, 2000
Bar Harbor, Maine, USA

The Twelfth Annual ACM Symposium on Parallel Algorithms and Architectures (SPAA '00) is sponsored by the ACM Special Interest Groups on Algorithms and Computation Theory (SIGACT) and Computer Architecture (SIGARCH) and organized in cooperation with the European Association for Theoretical Computer Science.

SPAA '00 will feature contributed papers, a plenary invited talk by Daniel Lewin, CTO of Akamai, and a SPAA Revue session, with invited presentations, posters, and demos of current research.

Contributed Papers
Contributed papers are sought in the areas of parallel algorithms and architectures, at all levels of parallelism, from VLSI to instruction-level parallelism to SMPs to supercomputers, and with applications from large-scale information organization over the Internet to scientific computing. A major goal of SPAA is to foster communication and cooperation among the diverse communities involved in the theory and practice of parallel computing, including those involved in algorithms, applications, languages, and systems. Papers should present original, fundamental advances in parallel computing. The Symposium encourages papers that offer novel approaches to parallel computing, present new ideas in parallel algorithms or architectures (including novel algorithm implementations on real machines and innovative use of technology), present models for accounting for costs on parallel machines, or study the interaction of parallel algorithms, languages, architectures, and applications. A contributed paper must not be submitted to another conference with published proceedings.

Authors of contributed papers are encouraged to submit their manuscript electronically by email. To submit electronically, visit "". This is the preferred method of submission. The deadline for electronic submissions is January 20, 2000, 5 p.m. CST (11 p.m. GMT).

Authors who are unable to submit electronically should send 12 double-sided hard copies of their manuscript to arrive by January 20, or postmarked January 12 or earlier and sent airmail to:

Professor Shang-Hua Teng, SPAA '00 Program Chair
Department of Computer Science, UIUC
Urbana, IL 61801, USA

Address enquiries by email to; do not send electronic submissions to this email address.

Enquiries regarding participation in the SPAA Revue should be sent to Lars Arge at by March 18, 2000. Please include a tentative title and one page abstract for each proposed presentation.

Paper Submission Format
The cover page should include
  1. title,
  2. authors and affiliation,
  3. e-mail address of the contact author, and
  4. a brief abstract describing the work.
The body of the paper should include an introduction understandable to a nonspecialist including motivation and previous work, and a technical exposition directed to a specialist. It should not exceed 10 printed pages in 11-point type or larger (excluding cover, figures, and references). More details may be supplied in a clearly marked appendix to be read at the discretion of the Program Committee.

Authors will be sent notification of acceptance or rejection by e-mail or letter mailed on or before March 18, 2000. A camera-ready copy of each accepted paper, prepared according to ACM guidelines, must be received by April 15, 2000. Accepted papers will be allotted a 25-minute presentation at the conference.

The conference program and registration information will be posted on the SPAA '00 web pages in April 2000.

Program Chair
Shang-Hua Teng, University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign

Program Committee
Micah Adler, UMass
Lars Arge, Duke
Siddhartha Chatterjee, UNC
Michel Dubois, USC
Geoffrey Fox, Syracuse
Pierre Fraigniaud, IRI, France
Ming-Yang Kao, Yale
Bradley C. Kuszmaul, Yale
Cynthia A. Phillips, Sandia National Laboratories
Andrea Richa, ASU
Daniel Spielman, MIT
Paul Spirakis, CTI, Greece
Shang-Hua Teng, University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign

SPAA Revue Chair
Lars Arge, Duke

Local Arrangements Chair
Thomas H. Cormen, Dartmouth College

SPAA General Chair
Gary Miller, Carnegie Mellon University

SPAA Secretary
Cynthia A. Phillips, Sandia National Laboratories

SPAA Treasurer
Ramesh Sitaraman, UMass

Back to SPAA home page
Cynthia A. Phillips <>
Last modified: November 19, 1999