SPAA 2014 Call for Papers

26th ACM Symposium on Parallelism in
Algorithms and Architectures

June 23 - 25, 2014
Prague, Czech Republic

SPAA defines the term ``parallel'' broadly, encompassing any computational system that can perform multiple operations or tasks simultaneously. Topics include, but are not limited to:

Parallel and Distributed Algorithms Parallel and Distributed Data Structures
Green Computing and Power-Efficient Architectures Management of Massive Data Sets
Parallel Complexity Theory Parallel and Distributed Architectures
Multi-Core Architectures Instruction Level Parallelism and VLSI
Compilers and Tools for Concurrent Programming Supercomputer Architecture and Computing
Transactional Memory Hardware and Software The Internet and the World Wide Web
Game Theory and Collaborative Learning Routing and Information Dissemination
Resource Management and Awareness Peer-to-Peer Systems
Mobile Ad-Hoc and Sensor Networks Robustness, Self-Stabilization and Security
Synergy of Parallelism in Algorithms, Programming and Architecture

Conference Presentation:

Regular presentations will be allotted a 25-minute talk and up to 10 pages in the proceedings. This format is intended for contributions reporting original research, submitted exclusively to this conference. Brief announcements will be allotted a 10-minute talk and a 2-page abstract (each marked as a brief announcement) in the proceedings. This format is a forum for brief communications, which may be published later in other conferences.


Every regular paper is eligible for the best paper award. The program committee may decline to make this award or may split the award among multiple papers.


Authors of contributed papers are encouraged to submit their manuscript electronically. The deadline for the electronic submission of abstracts is January 22, and the deadline for the submission of full versions of regular papers as well as brief announcements is January 25. These are firm deadlines. No extensions will be granted. Authors who are unable to submit electronically should contact the program chair, Peter Sanders, to receive instructions. Do not send electronic submissions to this email address.

Papers submitted to SPAA may not be under simultaneous consideration for a journal or any conference or workshop with published proceedings (other than as a brief announcement for a previous conference).

Paper Submission Format:

Submitted manuscripts may not exceed ten (10) single-spaced double-column pages for regular papers and two (2) single-spaced double-column pages for brief announcements, using 9-point size font on 8.5x11 inch pages, including figures, tables, and references. See (Option 2) for details, including the sig-alternate.cls style file and a sample file. Additional details may be added in a clearly marked appendix that will be read at the discretion of the program committee. Please indicate in the title of your manuscript whether this is a regular paper or a brief announcement. If requested by the authors, a manuscript that is not selected as a regular paper will also be considered for the SPAA brief announcements. Such a request will not affect the chances of the manuscript to be accepted as a regular paper.

Rebuttal Period:

This year, we will have a rebuttal period in which the authors can point out misunderstandings or comment on critical questions that the PC members may have. It will take place on March 12-16.


Authors will be sent notification of acceptance or rejection by e-mail or letter mailed on or before March 31. A camera-ready copy of each accepted abstract must be prepared according to the ACM guidelines for inclusion in the proceedings of the conference and must be received by April 30.

Program Chair
Peter Sanders, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, Germany

Program Committee
Susanne Albers, Technische Universität München, Germany
Gianfranco Bilardi, Padua University, Italy
Phillip Gibbons, Intel Labs Pittsburg, USA
Martin Hoefer, MPI Informatics Saarbrücken, Germany
Dariusz Kowalski, University of Liverpool, UK
Fredrik Manne, University of Bergen, Norway
Ulrich Meyer, Goethe University Frankfurt/M., Germany
Friedhelm Meyer auf der Heide, University of Paderborn, Germany
Seth Pettie, University of Michigan, USA
Vijaya Ramachandran, University of Texas at Austin, USA
Christian Scheideler, University of Paderborn, Germany
Oded Schwartz, UC Berkeley, USA
Sandeep Sen, IIT Delhi, India
Jiri Sgall, Charles University in Prague, Czech Republic
Nodari Sitchinava, University of Hawaii at Manoa, USA
Alexander Tiskin, University of Warwick, UK
Jesper Träff, Vienna University of Technology, Austria
Phiilippas Tsigas, Chalmers University Gothenburg, Sweden
Roger Wattenhofer, ETH Zürich, Switzerland