Garden Pool Pavillon

19th ACM Symposium on Parallelism in Algorithms and Architectures

San Diego, CA, USA
June 9 - 11, 2007

The 19th Annual ACM Symposium on Parallelism in Algorithms and Architectures (SPAA '07) is part of the 2007 Federated Computing Research Conference (FCRC 2007), June 8-16, 2007.

SPAA '07 is sponsored by the ACM Special Interest Groups on Algorithms and Computation Theory (SIGACT) and Computer Architecture (SIGARCH) and organized in cooperation with the European Association for Theoretical Computer Science.

The SPAA Symposium was called the ACM Symposium on Parallel Algorithms and Architectures from 1989 to 2002. The new name reflects the expanded scope of the conference as detailed below. SPAA '07 will feature regular papers, each with a 25-minute talk, and brief announcements, each with a 10-minute talk. The SPAA brief announcements are for brief communications including work in progress or demos.

This year, SPAA will have a best paper award for the first time. Eligible are all regular papers.

Expanded and Revitalized Scope:

In a tradition starting in 2001, SPAA defines "parallel" very broadly to encompass any computational system, or model, that can perform multiple operations or tasks simultaneously. As a consequence, contributed papers are sought in ALL areas of parallel algorithms and architectures and of related fields including (but not limited to) game theory and collaborative learning, social networks, the Internet and the World Wide Web, peer-to-peer and wireless systems, multi-threaded and multi-core architectures, and quantum and DNA computing.

Important Dates:
  • Submission Deadlines:
    - Regular papers: December 18
    - Brief announcements: January 8
    These are firm deadlines. No extensions will be granted.

  • Notification: February 11

  • Camera-ready copy due: March 22.

  • Early Conference Registration: May 11
  • Room Reservation Deadline: May 9

  • Further Information:

    For detailed information about SPAA, please visit or follow the following links. If you need a visa to attend SPAA, please send your request for a letter in support of a visa application to Ashley Cozzi ( at ACM headquarters, and include your name, mailing address, and fax number. Indicate that you plan to attend SPAA (authors of papers and brief announcements should also include the title). Click here for more information.


    SPAA 2007 is sponsored in part by generous contributions from the following organizations:

    Akamai logo           Intel logo                 Sun logo

    Conference Organization:

    Program Chair
    Christian Scheideler, Technical University of Munich

    Program Committee
    Frank Dehne, Carleton University
    Cyril Gavoille, University of Bordeaux
    Mike Goodrich, University of California, Irvine
    Anupam Gupta, Carnegie Mellon University
    Maurice Herlihy, Brown University
    Christos Kaklamanis, University of Patras
    Bradley C. Kuszmaul, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
    Stefano Leonardi, University of Rome "La Sapienza"
    Boaz Patt-Shamir, Tel Aviv University
    Harald Räcke, Toyota Technological Institute at Chicago
    Tim Roughgarden, Stanford University
    Peter Sanders, University of Karlsruhe
    Christian Schindelhauer, University of Freiburg
    Daniel Sorin, Duke University

    SPAA General Chair
    Phil Gibbons, Intel Research

    SPAA Secretary
    Christian Scheideler, Technical University of Munich

    SPAA Treasurer
    Rajmohan Rajaraman, Northeastern University
    SPAA Publicity Chair
    Michael Bender, SUNY Stony Brook

    SPAA Steering Committee
    Guy Blelloch, CMU
    Thomas H. Cormen, Dartmouth
    David Culler, UC Berkeley
    Frank Dehne, Carleton University
    Pierre Fraigniaud, University of Paris-Sud
    Phil Gibbons, Intel Research
    Maurice Herlihy, Brown University
    Tom Leighton, MIT and Akamai Technologies
    Charles Leiserson, MIT
    Fabrizio Luccio, University of Pisa
    Friedhelm Meyer auf der Heide, University of Paderborn
    Gary Miller, CMU and Akamai Technologies
    Burkhard Monien, University of Paderborn
    Franco Preparata, Brown University
    Vijaya Ramachandran, University of Texas, Austin
    Arnold Rosenberg, University of Massachusetts
    Paul Spirakis, CTI, Greece
    Uzi Vishkin, University of Maryland

    Questions and Comments: If you have any questions or comments, please send an email to