25th ACM Symposium on Parallelism in Algorithms and Architectures

Montreal, Canada
July 23 - 25, 2013

The SPAA program is now available.

There will be a 60th Birthday Dinner for Charles Leiserson and Uzi Vishkin on the evening of the 24th at the Bistro L'Aromate, within walking distance of the conference. If you are interested in attending please send a note to Jennifer Gabib at jennifer4@cmu.edu. Participants will be expected to pay for their own dinner. There are only a limited number of seats, which will be given out on a first come, first serve basis.

This year, SPAA is co-located with PODC. SPAA 2013 will feature regular papers, each with a 25-minute talk, and brief announcements, each with a 10-minute talk. The SPAA brief announcements are for brief communications including work in progress or demos.

The 25th Annual ACM Symposium on Parallelism in Algorithms and Architectures (SPAA '13) is sponsored by the ACM Special Interest Groups on Algorithms and Computation Theory (SIGACT) and Computer Architecture (SIGARCH) and organized in cooperation with the European Association for Theoretical Computer Science.

Important Dates:
  • Submission Deadlines: These are firm deadlines. No extensions will be granted.
  • Notification: April 15
  • Camera-ready copy due: May 12 (this is now final!)
  • Early Conference Registration: June 21
  • Room Reservation: June 21
    See the local information website for details.

  • Further Information:

    For detailed information about SPAA, please visit http://www.cs.jhu.edu/~spaa or follow the following links. If you need a visa to attend SPAA, please send your request for a letter in support of a visa application to the ACM headquarters at supportletters@acm.org and include your name, affiliation, mailing address, and fax number. Indicate that you plan to attend SPAA (authors of regular papers, brief announcements and posters should also include the title). Those attendees not coming from a university or research institution are advised to contact the SPAA secretary first.


    SPAA 2013 is sponsored in part by generous contributions from the following organizations:

    Akamai logo                     Intel logo                        Sandia National Laboratories logo

    Oracle Labs logo             IBM Research logo             SIGARCH logo

    Conference Organization:

    Program Chair
    Berthold Vöcking, RWTH Aachen University, Germany

    Program Committee
    Matthew Andrews, Bell Labs, USA
    Hagit Attiya, Technion, Israel
    Zhaojun Bai, UC Davis, USA
    Michael Bender, Stony Brook University, USA
    George Bosilca, University of Tennessee, USA
    Michael Dinitz, Weizmann Institute, Israel
    Robert Elsässer, Salzburg University, Austria
    Thomas Erlebach, University of Leicester, Great Britain
    Magnus M. Halldorsson, Reykjavik University, Iceland
    Torsten Hoefler, ETH Zürich, Switzerland
    Giuseppe Persiano, University of Salerno, Italy
    Cynthia A. Phillips, Sandia Labs, USA
    Rajmohan Rajaraman, Northeastern University, USA
    Andréa W. Richa, Arizona State University, USA
    André Schiper, EPFL Lausanne, Switzerland
    Stefan Schmid, TU Berlin and T-Labs, Germany
    Ravi Sundaram, Northeastern University, USA
    Peter Varman, Rice University, USA
    Jennifer Welch, Texas A&M University
    Norbert Zeh, Dalhousie University, Canada

    SPAA General Chair
    Guy Blelloch, Carnegie Mellon University

    SPAA Secretary
    Christian Scheideler, University of Paderborn

    SPAA Treasurer
    David Bunde, Knox College

    SPAA Publicity Chair
    Jeremy Fineman, Georgetown University

    Local Arrangements Chairs
    Lata Narayanan, Concordia University
    Jaroslav Opatrny, Concordia University

    SPAA Steering Committee
    Guy Blelloch, CMU
    David Culler, UC Berkeley
    Frank Dehne, Carleton University
    Pierre Fraigniaud, University of Paris-Sud
    Phil Gibbons, Intel Research
    Maurice Herlihy, Brown University
    Tom Leighton, MIT and Akamai Technologies
    Charles Leiserson, MIT
    Fabrizio Luccio, University of Pisa
    Friedhelm Meyer auf der Heide, University of Paderborn
    Gary Miller, Carnegie Mellon University
    Burkhard Monien, University of Paderborn
    Franco Preparata, Brown University
    Vijaya Ramachandran, University of Texas, Austin
    Arnold Rosenberg, University of Massachusetts Amherst and Colorado State University
    Paul Spirakis, CTI, Greece
    Uzi Vishkin, University of Maryland

    Questions and Comments: If you have any questions or comments, please send an email to Christian Scheideler at scheideler@upb.de.