Attribution Robert Leverington

29th ACM Symposium on Parallelism in Algorithms and Architectures

Washington D.C., USA
July 24 - 26, 2017

The SPAA program is now available.

The reception will be held on Sunday, July 23, 6-8pm at Marvin Center, Room 310

This year, SPAA is co-located with PODC and will take place at the Marvin Center at George Washington University.

The 29th Annual ACM Symposium on Parallelism in Algorithms and Architectures (SPAA '17) is sponsored by the ACM Special Interest Groups on Algorithms and Computation Theory (SIGACT) and Computer Architecture (SIGARCH) and organized in cooperation with the European Association for Theoretical Computer Science.

Important Dates:
  • Submission Deadlines: These are firm deadlines. No extensions will be granted.
  • Rebuttal period: March 27-30, 11:59pm EDT
  • Notification: April 23
  • Camera-ready copy due: May 23
  • Early Conference Registration: June 26
  • Room Reservation Deadline: See Local Information page

  • Further Information:

    For detailed information about SPAA, please visit or follow the following links (which will be activated as soon as the information becomes available).

    Invited Talks:

    There will be two invited talks during SPAA 2017:


    The SPAA 2017 is sponsored in part by generous contributions from the following organizations:

    Akamai logo                        Oracle Labs logo

    SIGACT logo                     SIGARCH logo

    Conference Organization:

    Program Chair
    Mohammad Hajiaghayi, University of Maryland at College Park

    Program Committee
    Umut Acar (Carnegie Mellon University)
    Susanne Albers (Technical University of Munich)
    Hossein Asadi (Sharif University of Technology)
    Nikhil Bansal (Eindhoven University of Technology)
    Hossein Bateni (Google Research)
    Petra Berenbrink (Simons Fraser University)
    Keren Censor-Hillel (Technion)
    Hubert Chan (The University of Hong Kong)
    Rajesh Chitnis (Weizmann Institute of Science)
    Frank Dehne (Carleton University)
    Martin Farach-Colton (Rutgers University)
    Pierre Fraigniaud (CNRS and University Paris Diderot)
    Mohsen Ghaffari (ETH Zurich)
    Michael Goodrich (University of California, Irvine)
    Fabrizio Grandoni (IDSIA)
    Mohammad Hajiaghayi (chair) (University of Maryland, College Park)
    Martin Hoefer (MPI Informatik, Saarbrücken)
    Samir Khuller (University of Maryland)
    Ravi Kumar (Google Research)
    Silvio Lattanzi (Google Research)
    Aleksander Mądry (MIT)
    Friedhelm Meyer auf der Heide (Paderborn University)
    Vahab Mirrokni (Google Research)
    Morteza Monemizadeh (Rutgers University)
    Seffi Naor (Technion)
    Boaz Patt-Shamir (Tel Aviv University)
    Richard Peng (Georgia Institute of Technology)
    Giuseppe Persiano (Università di Salerno)
    Cynthia A Phillips (Sandia National Laboratories)
    Yuval Rabani (The Hebrew University of Jerusalem)
    Rachid Guerraoui (EPFL)
    Harald Räcke (TU München)
    Rajmohan Rajaraman (Northeastern University)
    Mauricio Resende (Amazon)
    Laura Sanità (University of Waterloo)
    Alex Slivkins (Microsoft Research, NYC)
    Peter Varman (Rice University)
    Roger Wattenhofer (ETH Zurich)
    Ryan Williams (Stanford University and MIT)
    David Woodruff (IBM Almaden Research Center)

    SPAA General Chair
    Christian Scheideler, University of Paderborn

    SPAA Secretary
    Jeremy Fineman, Georgetown University

    SPAA Treasurer
    David Bunde, Knox College

    SPAA Publicity Chair
    Nodari Sitchinava, University of Hawaii at Manoa

    Local Arrangements Chair
    Jeremy Fineman, Georgetown University
    Calvin Newport, Georgetown University

    SPAA Steering Committee
    Guy Blelloch, Carnegie Mellon University
    David Culler, UC Berkeley
    Frank Dehne, Carleton University
    Pierre Fraigniaud, CNRS and University Paris Diderot
    Phil Gibbons, Intel Research
    Maurice Herlihy, Brown University
    Tom Leighton, MIT and Akamai Technologies
    Charles Leiserson, MIT
    Fabrizio Luccio, University of Pisa
    Friedhelm Meyer auf der Heide, University of Paderborn
    Gary Miller, Carnegie Mellon University
    Burkhard Monien, University of Paderborn
    Franco Preparata, Brown University
    Vijaya Ramachandran, University of Texas, Austin
    Arnold Rosenberg, University of Massachusetts Amherst and Colorado State University
    Paul Spirakis, CTI and University of Liverpool
    Uzi Vishkin, University of Maryland

    Questions and Comments: If you have any questions or comments, please contact Nodari Sitchinava at