SPAA 2019 Call for Papers

31st ACM Symposium on Parallelism in
Algorithms and Architectures

June 22 - 24, 2019
Phoenix, AZ, USA

Important Deadlines:

Abstract registration: January 8, 2019, 11:59pm EST
Full papers submission: January 11, 2019, 11:59pm EST
Notification: March 11, 2019
Camera-ready: April 21, 2019

Contributed papers are sought in all areas of parallel algorithms and architectures, encompassing any computational system that can perform multiple operations or tasks simultaneously. Topics of interest include, but are not limited to:

Parallel and Distributed Algorithms Parallel and Distributed Data Structures
Green Computing & Power-Efficient Architectures Management of Massive Data Sets
Parallel Complexity Theory Parallel and Distributed Architectures
Multi-Core Architectures Instruction Level Parallelism and VLSI
Compilers and Tools for Concurrent Programming Supercomputer Architecture and Computing
Transactional Memory Hardware and Software The Internet and the World Wide Web
Game Theory and Collaborative Learning Routing and Information Dissemination
Resource Management and Awareness Peer-to-Peer Systems
Mobile, Ad-Hoc, and Sensor Networks Robustness, Self-Stabilization, and Security
Synergy of Parallelism in Algorithms, Programming and Architecture

Regular papers:

A regular paper submission must report on original research that has not been previously or concurrently published. Submitted manuscripts may not exceed ten (10) single-spaced double-column pages. The title page, bibliography and designated figure pages (containing only figures) are not counted toward the ten pages. All necessary details to substantiate the claims of the paper should be included in a clearly marked appendix. If desired, the authors can simply attach a copy of the full paper as an appendix. Regular papers will be allotted up to 10 pages in the proceedings.

Brief announcements:

Examples of good brief announcements include: work in progress, announcement of tools/libraries, challenge problems posted to the community, corrections to earlier results. Brief announcements may also include smaller results of interest. Submitted manuscripts may not exceed two (2) single-spaced double-column pages for brief announcements. The title page, bibliography and designated figure pages (containing only figures) are not counted toward the two pages.

Please indicate in the title of your manuscript whether this is a regular paper or a brief announcement. All regular rejected papers automatically will be considered for brief announcements. Titles of regular papers which should not be considered for this option should mention "full paper only" after the title.

Submission details:

Manuscripts submitted for review must use a single-spaced double-column format for 8.5x11-inch paper, use at least a 9-point font size, and have reasonable margins and spacing throughout. See Regular papers may not exceed ten (10) pages and brief announcements may not exceed two (2) pages. Title page, bibliography, designated figure pages (containing only figures) and the appendix do not count toward the limit. Visit this link for submission details.

Conference presentation:

Regular presentations will be allotted a 25-minute talk and up to 10 pages in the proceedings. This format is intended for contributions reporting original research, submitted exclusively to this conference.

Brief announcements will be allotted a 10-minute talk and a two-page abstract in the proceedings. This format is a forum for brief communications, which may be published later in other conferences.


Every regular paper is eligible for the best paper award. The program committee may decline to make this award or may split the award among multiple papers.

Program Chair

Petra Berenbrink (University of Hamburg)

Program Committee

Hagit Attiya (Technion, Israel)
Chen Avin (Ben-Gurion Univ. of the Negev, Israel)
James Aspnes (Yale University, USA)
Olivier Beaumont (INRIA Bordeaux, France)
Andrea Clementi (Tor Vergata University of Rome, Italy)
Robert Elsässer (Univ. of Salzburg, Austria)
Funda Ergun (Indiana University, USA)
Sándor Fekete (TU Braunschweig, Germany)
Tom Friedetzky (Durham University, UK)
Leszek Gąsieniec (Univ. of Liverpool, UK)
Rati Gelashvili (NeuralMagic, USA)
George Giakkoupis (INRIA Rennes)
Yan Gu (CMU, USA)
Christos Kaklamanis (Univ. Patras, Greece)
Darius Kowalski (Univ. of Liverpool, UK)
Ulrich Meyer (Univ. Frankfurt, Germany)
Lars Nagel (Loughborough University, UK)
Emanuele Natale (MPI, Germany)
Seffi Naor (Technion, Israel)
Kirk Pruhs (Univ. of Pittsburgh, USA)
Tomasz Radzik (Kings College London, UK)
Rajmohan Rajaraman (Northeastern, USA)
Tao Schardl (MIT, USA)

SPAA General Chair

Christian Scheideler, University of Paderborn

SPAA Secretary

Jeremy Fineman, Georgetown University

SPAA Treasurer

David Bunde, Knox College

SPAA Publicity Chair

Nodari Sitchinava, University of Hawaii at Manoa

Local Arrangements

Association for Computing Machinery