SPAA 2020 Call for Papers

32nd ACM Symposium on Parallelism in
Algorithms and Architectures

July 14 - 17, 2020
Philadelphia, PA, USA

Important Deadlines:

Abstract registration: February 8, 2020, 11:59pm AoE
Full papers submission: February 15, 2020, 11:59pm AoE
Rebuttal: April 6-8, 2020
Notification: April 15, 2020
Camera-ready: TBA

Contributed papers are sought in all areas of parallel algorithms and architectures, encompassing any computational system that can perform multiple operations or tasks simultaneously. Topics of interest include, but are not limited to:

- Biological Distributed Algorithms
- Compilers and Tools for Concurrent Programming
- Game Theory and Collaborative Learning
- Green Computing & Power-Efficient Architectures
- Instruction Level Parallelism and VLSI
- Management of Massive Data Sets
- Mobile, Ad-Hoc, and Sensor Networks
- Multi-Core Architectures
- Parallel Complexity Theory
- Parallel and Distributed Algorithms
- Parallel and Distributed Architectures
- Parallel and Distributed Data Structures
- Peer-to-Peer Systems
- Resource Management and Awareness
- Robustness, Self-Stabilization, and Security
- Routing and Information Dissemination
- Supercomputer Architecture and Computing
- Synergy of Parallelism in Algorithms, Programming and Architecture
- The Internet and the World Wide Web
- Transactional Memory Hardware and Software

Submission details:

Please indicate in the title of your manuscript whether this is a regular paper or a brief announcement. All regular rejected papers automatically will be considered for brief announcements. Titles of regular papers which should not be considered for this option should mention "full paper only" after the title. Visit this link for submission details.

Regular papers:

A regular paper submission must report on original research that has not been previously or concurrently published. Submitted manuscripts may not exceed ten (10) single-spaced double-column pages. The title page and bibliography are not counted toward the ten pages.  All necessary details to substantiate the claims of the paper should be included in a clearly marked appendix. If desired, the authors can simply attach a copy of the full paper as an appendix.  Regular papers will be allotted 10 pages plus bibliography in the proceedings.

Brief announcements:

Examples of good brief announcements include: work in progress, announcement of tools/libraries, challenge problems posted to the community, corrections to earlier results. Brief announcements may also include smaller results of interest. Submitted manuscripts may not exceed two (2) single-spaced double-column pages for brief announcements. The title page is not counted toward the two pages.

Double-Blind Policy:

Submissions to SPAA 2020 will be double-blind.  Additional details are available at this link.


The program committee will select a set of best and outstanding papers, which will be presented in a special session of the conference.

Safe ToC:

SPAA 2020 is proud to be affiliated with the SafeToC initiative.

Program Chair

Michael Spear, Lehigh University

Program Committee

Saeed Akhoondian Amiri, Max Plank Institut fur Informatik
Ariful Azad, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory
Grey Ballard, Wake Forest
Michael Bender, SUNY Stony Brook
Petra Berenbrink, University of Hamburg
Costas Busch, LSU
Ho-Lin Chen, National Taiwan University
Damian Dechev, University of Central Florida
Panagiota Fatourou, University of Crete
Jeremy Fineman, Georgetown University
Seth Gilbert, NUS
Yan Gu, UC Riverside
Ahmed Hassan, Lehigh University
Joe Izraelevitz, University of Colorado
Alex Kogan, Oracle
Evangelos Kranakis, Carleton University
Janardhan Kulkarni, MSR
Ashwin Lall, Denison Uniersity
Angelina Lee, WUSTL
Victor Luchangco, Algorand
Yannic Maus, Technion
Erez Petrank, Technion
Cynthia Phillips, Sandia National Laboratories
Vijaya Ramachandran, UT Austin
Pedro Ramalhete, Cisco
Eric Ruppert, York University
TB Schardl, MIT
Elad Schiller, Chalmers University of Technology
Gokarna Sharma, Kent State
Julian Shun, MIT
Nodari Sitchinava, University of Hawaii at Manoa
Shay Solomon, Tel Aviv University
Yihan Sun, UC Riverside
He Sun, University of Cambridge
Jukka Suomela, Aalto University
Peter Varman, Rice University
Luca Zanetti, University of Cambridge
Chaodong Zheng, Nanjing University

SPAA General Chair

Christian Scheideler, Paderborn University

SPAA Treasurer

David Bunde, Knox College

SPAA Publicity Chairs

Yan Gu, UC Riverside
Julian Shun, MIT

SPAA Workshop/Tutorial Chair

Yan Gu, UC Riverside

SPAA SafeTOC Advocate

Vijaya Ramachandran, University of Texas at Austin

Local Arrangement Chair

Roberto Palmieri, Lehigh University