Tenth Annual ACM Symposium on

Puerto Vallarta, Mexico

June 28 - July 2, 1998

SPAA'98 is sponsored by the ACM Special Interest Groups for Algorithms Complexity Theory (SIGACT) and Computer Architecture (SIGARCH) and organized in cooperation with the European Association for Theoretical Computer Science.

Web sites (mirrored):


Register for SPAA

Call for papers:

Contributed papers are sought in the areas of parallel algorithms and architectures, at all levels of parallelism, from VLSI to instruction-level parallelism to SMPs to supercomputers.

A major goal of SPAA is to foster communication and cooperation among the diverse communities involved in the theory and practice of parallel computing, including those involved in systems, algorithms, languages, and applications.

The call for papers

Important dates:

Early registration: April 20. The price increases by $100 ($25 for students) after this date.
Regular registration: June 1. The price increases by another $50 ($25 for students) after this date.

Deadline extension: In response to many requests for extensions, the deadline for submissions has been extended. All electronic or hardcopy submissions must arrive by January 21, 1998, 17:00 EST. There will be no further extensions.

January 16, 1998:   (Original) submission deadline.
March 10, 1998:   Acceptance notification.
April 7, 1998:   Camera-ready copy due.

Accepted papers:

Follow this link for a list of the accepted papers (3/19/98).

New this year:

SPAA'98 will be collocated with the Seventeenth ACM Symposium on Principles of Distributed Computing (PODC'98). The two conferences will both run June 28-July 2 with joint receptions, plenary sessions, lunches and coffee breaks.

The Symposium especially encourages papers in Parallel I/O and Parallel Databases.

Further information:

Program committee:

Phillip B. Gibbons (Bell Labs, Chair)
Greg Astfalk (Hewlett-Packard)
Thomas H. Cormen (Dartmouth)
Frank Dehne (Carleton)
Pierre Fraigniaud (CNRS, U. Paris-Sud)
Joseph JáJá (U. of Maryland)
Daniel Lenoski (Silicon Graphics)
Kai Li (Princeton)
Yossi Matias (Bell Labs & Tel-Aviv)
F. Meyer auf der Heide (U. of Paderborn)
Nir Shavit (Tel-Aviv & MIT)
Gerhard Weikum (U. of Saarland)
Katherine Yelick (U. of California - Berkeley)


Program Chair: Phillip B. Gibbons (Bell Labs)
Revue Chair: Eric J. Schwabe (Northwestern)
Local Arrangements: Ming-Yang Kao (Yale)

Conference General Chair: Gary L. Miller (Carnegie Mellon)
Conference Secretary: Thomas H. Cormen (Dartmouth)
Conference Treasurer: Eric J. Schwabe (Northwestern)
Webmaster: Reinhard Lueling (U. of Paderborn)