SPAA Parallel Computing Award

The SPAA Parallel Computing Award will recognize a person either for a singular important result or for a career of accomplishments related to the SPAA community. However, it is not restricted to people who publish in SPAA, or a result that appeared in SPAA.


Selection committee: The selection committee will consist of the SPAA Steering Committee and is headed by the Steering Committee Chair.

Nomination deadline: August 1 each year.

Nominations can be made for any individual of the parallel and distributed computing community by submitting a nomination letter including the following information to the SPAA Steering Committee Chair-elect at

  • Name, address, and email address of the nominator
  • The nominated person
  • A statement (at most 500 words) addressing why the person should receive the award
  • Up to three supporting letters from experts in the field
  • Suggested citation if the nomination is selected.
  • This should be a concise statement (maximum of 30 words) describing the key technical or professional accomplishment for which the nomination merits this distinction. Note that the final wording will be at the discretion of the selection committee.

Self-nomination is disallowed.

Nominations by a Steering Committee member are allowed.

After the nomination deadline, the committee will then rank the candidates according to the following selection criteria:

  1. Impact of the publications within and outside of the community
  2. Scientific quality of the publications

and will make a decision by November 1. The committee may either pick exactly one candidate or no candidate at all, if it feels that none of the candidates has had a sufficient impact. If a candidate is selected, the Steering Committee Chair will contact her/him and invite her/him to give a plenary talk at next year’s SPAA conference. Candidates that have not been selected for the award but receive support from at least one committee member will be re-considered in the next year.

Funding: No funding will be provided for the award, but the winner will get free registration and an honorarium. The money for the honorarium will come from the registration fees for the current SPAA conference.

Award announcement: Each SPAA Parallel Computing Award will be published on the SPAA website and will be announced using standard mailing lists in the parallel and distributed computing communities.

Conflict of interest: The award committee will follow a conflict of interest policy that is consistent with that of ACM:

SPAA Parallel Computing Award Winners

  • 2024: Charles E. Leiserson
  • 2023: Guy E. Blelloch