SPAA Test-of-Time Award

The SPAA Test-of-Time Award will recognize papers that have had a significant impact in the SPAA community and beyond. All regular papers that were published in a SPAA conference at least 10 years ago are eligible for the award.


Selection committee: The selection committee will consist of the SPAA Steering Committee and is headed by the Steering Committee Chair.

Nomination deadline: August 1 each year.

Nominations will be submitted to the SPAA Steering Committee Chair-elect at and must include:

  • Name, address, and email address of the nominator
  • The nominated paper
  • A statement (at most 500 words) addressing why the paper should receive the award
  • Up to three supporting letters from experts in the field
  • Suggested citation if the nomination is selected.
  • This should be a concise statement (maximum of 30 words) describing the key technical or professional accomplishment for which the nomination merits this distinction. Note that the final wording will be at the discretion of the selection committee.

Self-nomination is disallowed.

Nominations by a Steering Committee member are allowed.

After the nomination deadline, the committee will then rank the nominated papers according to the following selection criteria:

  • Impact of the paper within and outside of the community
  • Scientific quality of the paper

and will make a decision by October 1. The committee may pick either exactly one paper or no paper at all, if it feels that none of the nominations has had sufficient impact. If a paper is selected, the Steering Committee Chair will contact the authors of that paper and invite them to give a plenary talk at next year’s SPAA conference.

Funding: No funding will be provided for the award, but the author giving the plenary talk will get free registration and an honorarium. The money for the honorarium will come from the registration fees for the current SPAA conference.

Award announcement: Each Test-of-Time Award will be published on the SPAA website and will be announced using standard mailing lists in the parallel and distributed computing communities.

Conflict of interest: The award committee will follow a conflict of interest policy that is consistent with that of ACM:

SPAA Test-of-Time Award Winners

  • 2024: Nimar S. Arora, Robert D. Blumofe, and C. Greg Plaxton for Thread Scheduling for Multiprogrammed Multiprocessors from SPAA ’98.
  • 2023: Charles E. Leiserson, Zahi S. Abuhamdeh, David C. Douglas, Carl R. Feynman, Mahesh N. Ganmukhi, Jeffrey V. Hill, W. Daniel Hillis, Bradley C. Kuszmaul, Margaret A. St. Pierre, David S. Wells, Monica C. Wong-Chan, Shaw-Wen Yang, and Robert Zak for The Network Architecture of the Connection Machine CM-5 from SPAA ’92.